When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you’d just like to take a break, you can temporarily disable your account instead. After your account is deleted, you can’t sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account. For security reasons, we can’t delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to request deletion. If you can’t remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.
To request the permanent deletion of your account:
1. Go to the Delete Your Account page from a mobile browser or computer. If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web, you’ll be asked to log in first. You can’t delete your account from within the Instagram app.
2. Select an option from the dropdown menu next to “Why are you deleting your account?” and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu.
3. Click or tap Permanently delete my account.